I want to donate

Governing bodies

Board of trustees
Executive board
Scientific Advisory Board
Internal Scientific Committee

Ex oficio members

President: Honorable Mr. Manel Balcells i Díaz. Minister for Health of the Government of Catalonia
1st Vicepresident: Honorable Mr. Joaquim Nadal i Farreras. Minister for Research and Universities of the Government of Catalonia
2nd Vicepresident: Rector Magfc. Joaquim Salvi Mas. Rector of the University of Girona
Vocal: Mr. Joan Gómez Pallàres. General Manager for Research and Universities of the Government of Catalonia

Designated members

By the Department of health – Catalonian Regional Government:

  • Ms. Aina Plaza Tesias. General Director of Health Planning
  • Mr. Miquel Carreras Massanet. Territorial Manager of CatSalut in Girona
  • Mrs. Montserrat Llavayol i Giralt. Deputy Director General for Health Research and Innovation

By the Departament de Recerca i Universitats de la Generalitat de Catalunya:

  • Mr. Francisco Javier Massó Pérez. Deputy Director General for Research
  • Mrs. Laia Arnal Arasa. General Manager for Knowledge Society, Transfer and Territory
  • Mr. Lluís Rovira Pato, Director of the CERCA Institution

By the Rectorate of the University of Girona:

  • Mr. Josep Mª Gómez Pallarès. Manager
  • Mrs. Maria Pla de Solà Morales. Vicerector of Research and transfer of knowledge
  • Mr. Josep Calbó Angrill. Vicerector of Strategic Projects

By the Health Institutions:

  • Mr. Martí Masferrer Mascort. President of the Board of Directors of the Institut d’Assistència Sanitària IAS Girona
  • Mrs. Margarita Garcia Martín. Assistant General Manager for Knowledge Management, Medicines, Prevention and Research
  • Mrs. Àngels Morales Lozano. Territorial Manager of the Institut Català de la Salut ICS Girona
  • Mrs. Glòria Padura Esnarriaga. Manager of the Hospital Universitari de Girona Dr. Josep Trueta of the Institut Català de la Salut ICS


  • Mrs. Maria Jesús Jiménez-Hernández. Head of the Legal-Administrative Area of the General Directorate of Research and Innovation

Executive board

The composition of the IDIBGI Delegate Commission is of 7 members, of which 1 is ex officio by virtue of their positions and 6 are appointed by the corresponding institutions.


  • General Director of Health Planning, Ms. Aina Plaza Tesias. 

For the Department of Research and Universities:

  • Vocal: General Director of Research, Mr. Joan Gómez Pallarès.
  • Vocal: Director of the CERCA Institution, Mr. Lluís Rovira Pato.

For the Rectorate of the University of Girona (UdG):


  • Manager, Mr. Josep Mª Gómez Pallarès
  • Vicerector of Research and transfer of knowledge, Mrs. Maria Pla de Solà Morales

For the Health Institutions:


  • Manager of ICS-Girona, Mrs. Àngels Morales Lozano
  • Chairman of the Board of Directors of IAS, Mr. Joan Profitós Tuset.

Secretary: Head of the Administrative Legal Department of the Directorate General for Health Research and Innovation, Ms. Maria Jesús Jiménez Hernández.

Scientific Advisory Board


  • Angel Carracedo - Universidad Santiago de Compostela (Spain)


  • María Carmen Gómez-Cabrera - Universitat de Valencia (Spain)
  • Angelo Barbato - Istituto di Ricerche Farmacologiche Mario Negri - IRCCS (Italy)
  • Luis Martí-Bonmatí - Hospital Universitario y Politécnico La Fe de Valencia (Spain)
  • Vinicio de Jesús Pérez - Stanford University (USA)
  • Massimo Federici - Università di Roma (Italy)
  • Lucienne Costa-Frossard - H. Ramón y Cajal (Spain)
  • Maria Blasco - Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas - CNIO (Spain)

Internal Scientific Committee


  • Marga Nadal - IDIBGI Director


  • Judit Bassols - Metabolic and maternal-fetal
  • Ramon Brugada - Cardiovascular genetics
  • Jordi Cid - Mental health and addictions
  • Susanna Esteba - Neurodevelopmental disorders
  • José Manuel Fernández-Real - Nutrition, eumetabolism and health
  • David Gallardo - Haematology
  • Josep Garre - Aging, disability and health
  • Marina González - Nursery
  • Rafel Marcos-Gragera - Descriptive epidemiology, genetics and cancer prevention
  • Begoña Martín - Clinical Research Unit
  • Javier Menéndez - Metabolism and cancer
  • Albert Miguela - Predoctoral researcher
  • Marta Mozo - Quality Compliance
  • Josep Puig - Medical Imaging
  • Lluís Ramió - Neurodegeneration and neuroinflammation
  • Rafel Ramos - Research in vascular health
  • Marc Serra - Innovation
  • Olga Tura - Respiratory
  • Montserrat Vendrell - Respiratory
  • Sílvia Vilar - Human Resources


  • Anna Ribas - Gerent (acting secretary)